1st Grade

Welcome

 

 

"The more that you read,the more things you will know.
The more you learn, the more places you'll go."
-Dr.Seuss



Amanda Kuehnle

akuehnle@lfcsd.org

Extension 1156

Krysta Estey

kestey@lfcsd.org

Extension 1153

Rebecca Kubecka

rkubecka@lfcsd.org

Extension 1148

Annmarie Weber

aweber@lfcsd.org

Extension 1158

Jennifer Reid

jreid@lfcsd.org

Extension 1221

Lauren Baylor

lbaylor@lfcsd.org

Extension 1160



Your first grader is making a major transition this year and will be becoming independent learners. Your child will become readers, writers and mathematicians in first grade.

Your child will begin to recognize the inseparable relationships among reading, writing, listening and speaking. He/she will learn to read for enjoyment and information, express their own thoughts verbally and in written form, and ask relevant questions.

The students are involved in inquiry within a structured math and science geared to fostering critical thinking and problem solving.

This is the year they "learn to learn" in preparation for a lifetime of learning.

Math

Math Schedule:

  • Topic 1: Understanding Addition
  • Topic 2: Understanding Subtraction
  • Topic 3: Five and Ten Relationships
  • Topic 4: Addition and Subtraction Facts to 12
  • Topic 5: Addition Facts to 20
  • Topic 6: Subtraction Facts to 20
  • Topic 7: Counting and Number Patterns to 120
  • Topic 8: Tens and Ones
  • Topic 9: Comparing and Ordering Numbers to 100
  • Topic 10: Adding Tens and Ones
  • Topic 11: Subtracting with Tens and Ones
  • Topic 12: Length
  • Topic 13: Time
  • Topic 14: Using Data to Answer Questions
  • Topic 15: Geometry
  • Topic 16: Fractions and Shapes
  • Topic 17: Step-Up to 2nd Grade

Strategies to Figure Out an Unknown Word

  • Look at the picture.
  • Use the initial letter of the word.
  • Think about what would make sense in that sentence.
  • Look through the whole word.
  • Look for parts of words in the unknown word.
  • Say, "Skip," and keep reading, then return to the beginning of the sentence.

First Grade Site Words:

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.